Two Semesters in CBSE Class X

Views: 1.3K

After the boards exams are removed from 2011, the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) will divide the Class 10 into two semesters, as in management and engineering colleges, to make the evaluation process easier and smoother. In each semester there will be two 'formative assessments' and one 'summative assessment'. Formative assessment is carried out during a course of instruction for providing continuous feedback. It will take into account both teacher's and learner's point of view in understanding and internalising a subject. It will comprise of interviews, conversations, projects and assignments among others.

Write for Us

In a summative assessment, grades will be given to students by their schools based on overall performance. While 40 % of the evaluation will be through formative assessment, the rest will be through summative assessment. The CBSE official disclosed this to sources soon after Human Resource Development Minister Kapil Sibal announced that Class 10 board examination under CBSE would be abolished from 2011. From 2011, the students' evaluation would be based exclusively on a nine-point grading system. But this will be introduced this academic year itself. Under the new system, there will be nine grades including A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2, D, E1 and E2.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

[noptin-form id=89877]
To Top