UGC appoints Sanjay Govind Dhande as new member

Sanjay Govind Dhande, former Director of IIT Kanpur has been appointed as new UGC member for tenure of three years. He is replacing former member Yogendra Yadav who was sacked on September 18, for being a member of Arvind Kejriwal led Aam Admi Party while he was still associated with an apex body of higher education. In order to avoid future politicisation of the education body, Yadav was asked to retire from the post of member of UGC.

Dhand will serve as a member of UGC till September 24, 2016. Other newly appointed members in the commission include M M Ansari, chairman of Requirement and Assessment Centre DRDO; D Narasimha Reddy, Director of International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Bio-technology; V S Chauhan, Principal of HR College of Commerce and Economics Mumbai; Indu Shahani, Seyed E Hasnain from Kusuma School of Biological Sciences among others.