South Kashmir to get new University

South KashmirAs per the provisions of the Constitution, Education as a subject is on the Concurrent List (List III) of the Seventh Schedule. Hence setting up new universities and other institutions is the responsibility of both the state as well as Central Government. The Central government has already opened two Central Universities in Jammu & Kashmir; one in Jammu and the second in Kashmir. As of now there is no plan to further open any new Central University in South Kashmir or in Jammu & Kashmir.

However, recognising the needs of higher education, the Central Government has launched the Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) of Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA), which seeks to expand the institutional base by creating additional capacity in existing institutions and establish new institutions in order to correct regional imbalances and provide access to quality education in unserved and underserved areas.

Based on the State Higher Education Plan (SHEP) submitted by the state of Jammu & Kashmir under RUSA, the Central Government has approved setting up of two universities by clustering of colleges at Srinagar and Jammu. In addition, two new professional colleges at Kathua and Ganderbal; upgradation of existing colleges to model degree colleges at Shopian, Samba and Ganderbal; infrastructure grants to the University of Jammu and University of Kashmir; infrastructure grants to 22 colleges; and support for vocationalisation of higher education in 20 colleges have also been approved under RUSA.

"Exciting news! Elets Education is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!
Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter , Instagram.