Schools News

Education Ministry to rename 1,063 residential schools

Views: 1.6K
Education Ministry

The Ministry of Education has decided to name the boarding schools and residences funded by the Samagra Shiksha program “Boarding schools Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose”.

“To date, the states and UT have sanctioned a total of 1,063 residential installations (383 residential schools and 680 residences). The decision was made to change the name of the boarding schools and shelters funded by the Samagra Shiksha program to ‘Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Indian Residential Schools’, the sources said.

“In addition to the regular school curriculum, children also benefit from comprehensive child development interventions, such as specific skills training, physical self-defense, health care, community involvement, and a monthly grant. These boarding schools and hostels follow the same standards as Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalayas (KGBV) and strive to meet the standards set by the KGBV, ”they added.

Write for Us

Also read: Education ministry recommends measures on school bag policy

A senior official in the Ministry of Education said that the association of these schools with Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose will inspire children and also motivate teachers, staff and administration to achieve high quality standards.

To ensure universal education and enrollment in sparsely populated and sparsely populated areas (mainly tribal areas) where opening schools may not be profitable, and for children in urban areas in need of care and protection, the Samagra Shiksha Department of Education provides states and UT with financial support for the opening and operation of boarding schools and dormitories in mountainous, small and sparsely populated areas for unprotected children of adults who need protection and care.

Housing is also provided for the labor of rescued children, migrant children from poor landless families, unprotected children of adults separated from their families, internally displaced and children from conflict zones, armed and social forces, and natural disasters.

In this context, backward educational blocs (EBB), left extremist districts (LWE), special districts (SFD), and ambitious districts identified by NITI Ayog are preferred.

The central government had previously decided to celebrate the birthday of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose on January 23, under the name “Parakram Diwas”.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

[noptin-form id=89877]
To Top