IIT Guwahati Director to take charge as the new Chairman of AICTE

Professor TG Sitharam

All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) to get a new Chairman. The Ministry of Education has appointed Professor TG Sitharam, Director of the Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati (IIT Guwahati) as the new Chairman of AICTE for a period of three years.

Earlier, UGC Chairman M Jagadesh Kumar was appointed as interim charge of the Chairman of AICTE after Anil Sahasrabuddhe retired on attaining the age of 65 years. Now, Prof Sitharam will take charge from UGC Chairman.

In an official statement, the Ministry of Education said, “All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) Act, 1987, the Central Government hereby appoints, Prof. T.G. Sitharam, Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, as Chairman, AICTE in Level-l7 of the pay Matrix, on deputation basis, for a period of three years we.f. the date of assumption of charge, or till attaining the age of 65 years or until further orders, whichever is earliest.”

Professor Sitharam has served as the Director of IIT Guwahati and a Senior Professor in the Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, and served IISc for more than 27 years. Also, he is a member of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB). Professor Sitharam was also Chairman, Board of Governors at IIT Guwahati during 2019-2020 for more than a year. He also holds the post of Director (additional charge) of Central Institute of Technology, Kokrajhar, Assam, since May 2021.

The professor after obtaining his Bachelors degree in Civil Engineering from Mysore University, Professor Sitharam went on to do his Masters in Civil Engineering from Indian Institute of Science (1986) and PhD in Civil Engineering from University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada (1991).