digitalLEARNING Magazine

Higher Education

UGC releases list of fake universities in India

Views: 1.6K

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India has released a list of 21 fake universities and institutions that are in existence in the country in violation of Section 22 of the UGC Act, 1956.

In order to curb fake educational institutes, the UGC has proposed comprehensive changes in the UGC Act, which include, inter-alia, inclusion of the expression of the word University, Vishwavidyalaya or Vidyapeeth etc. in various regional languages and also providing for deterrent punishment including imprisonment for a period upto three years and penalty upto Rs. 10.00 lakhs, besides making the offence cognizable as well as non-bailable.

The list includes the following universities and institutions: Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Bihar; Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi (UP) Jagatpuri, Delhi, Commercial University Ltd. Daryaganj, Delhi, United Nations University, Delhi, Vocational University, Delhi, ADR-Centric Juridical University, New Delhi; Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Belgaum, Karnataka; St. John’s University, Kerala; Kesarwani Vidyapith, Jabalpur (MP); Raja Arabic University, Nagpur, Maharashtra; D.D.B Sanskrit University, Tamil Nadu; Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya, (Woman’s University) Allahabad, U.P., Indian Education Council of U.P., Lucknow (UP), Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayag, Allahabad (UP), National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University) Aligarh (UP), Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Kosi Kalan, Mathura (UP), Maharana Partap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh (UP), Gurukul Vishwavidyalaya, U.P., Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida, (UP), Indian Institute of Science and Engineering, New Delhi.

Write for Us

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

200000+ Subscribers read it every day.
To Top