13 State governments and FCT to boost basic education

Views: 551

Thirteen state governments and the Federal Capital Territory have approved the employment of over 1,000 teachers who are the first batch of participants in the Federal Teachers Scheme (FTS) in Nigeria. The employment of these teachers on a permanent and pensionable basis takes effect from 1st November. The Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC) has disclosed that 'it has received the heartwarming news from 13 State Universal Basic Education Boards (SUBEBS) and the FCT to the effect that their governments have approved the employment of some teachers who participated in the temporary FTS,' describing the development as very encouraging and indicative of the state government's resolve to play leading roles in basic education delivery in the country. This effort at improving the quality of teaching in the basic schools, according to the Commission, is commendable and worthy of emulation by remaining states, especially at this period of the completion of the two years service by the first batch of the scheme's participants.

The Commission congratulates the SUBEBs in all these states and their governments for this great stride, adding that it has renewed its commitment to effective partnership with them for quality basic education delivery. The states which have approved the appointment of some of the FTS participants in their states are Adamawa, Bayelsa, Borno, Cross River, Gombe, Jigawa, Kano, Nasarawa, Niger, Sokoto, Ondo, Yobe, Zamfara and ICT. The Commission stressed the need for the remaining 24 states that have not approved the employment of the FTS participants to do so in order to redress the challenges of teachers, shortage in the states.

Write for Us

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

[noptin-form id=89877]
To Top