Odisha Govt to upgrade schools for science education of SC/ST students

Views: 1.1K

Odisha School

To provide science education to SC/ST students in the State, the Odisha Government has decided to upgrade an additional 21 high schools to higher secondary schools.

Odisha’s minister for ST & SC Development and Minorities & Backward Classes Welfare Ramesh Chandra Majhi said, “The new upgraded higher secondary schools will come up in Gajapati, Kandhamal, Sundergarh, Nabarangpur, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Kalahandi, Mayurbhanj and Balangir districts.”

The newly upgraded higher secondary schools will majorly focus on teaching science stream, Majhi stated.

“For the current academic session 2018-19, the Government has decided to upgrade 21 more high schools to higher secondary schools,” Majhi further said. It is expected that the Classes in these schools will commence from the current academic year for which the Government has appointed 154 junior lecturers.

Earlier, the State Government had upgraded 26 High Schools into higher secondary schools in the science stream till 2017-18. The schools were located in Mayurbhanj, Gajapati, Kalahandi, Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur districts.

These schools are run by the SC/ST development department, officials said.


DigitalLEARNING, is an initiative of Elets Techomedia Pvt Ltd existing since 2003. Now, Elets' YouTube channel -- Elets tv, a treasure of premier innovation-oriented knowledge-conferences and awards, is also active.

To Subscribe Free, Click Here
Like us on Facebook, connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter.

Most Popular

To Top