Education minister Harjot Singh Bains confers Swachh Vidyalaya Awards to schools

Harjot Singh Bains

Punjab School Education Minister Harjot Singh Bains gave away Prizes and Certificates of Appreciation to those schools that topped in various categories of Swachh Vidyala Awards of session 2021-22 during a function organized at the head office on Tuesday.

During the award ceremony Pradeep Kumar Agarwal, Director, General School Education, DPI Secondary Education Kuljit Pal Singh Mahi, Director SCERT Dr. Maninder Singh Sarkaria, Deputy SPD and State Nodal Officer Swachh Vidyala Campaign Gurjit Singh and other concerned officials were present.

Appreciating the work of principals and teachers of the concerned schools, the Education Minister said that these teachers and their teams brought laurels for the state with their constructive approach. He also urged the teachers of the winning schools to play vanguard role to improve the situation of sanitation in nearby schools so that more schools can get this national distinction next year.

The Government of India has selected these schools in various categories on sanitation parameters under the Swachh Bharat Campaign. The selected schools included government and private ones. In the overall category of elementary schools in selected rural areas included Government Middle School Kingra (Faridkot), Government Primary School Inderpura (Patiala), Government Primary School Suhali (SAS Nagar), Government Primary School Katarian (SBS Nagar), Government Primary School Fatehpur (SAS Nagar), and Government Primary School Mukandpur (SBS Nagar).

However, the overall category of elementary schools in urban areas included Government Primary School Sheikhupur (Kapurthala), Golden Era Millennium School Mandi Killianwali (Sri Muktsar Sahib), Government Primary School Chohak Kalan (Jalandhar) and Government Primary School Sensi Wehra Amloh (Fatehgarh Sahib).

Similarly, DAV International School Verka Chowk (Amritsar), Government Senior Secondary School Bhawanipur (Kapurthala), Government Senior Secondary School Pakki Tibbi (Sri Muktsar Sahib), Pioneer Convent School Gurmukh Nagar (Malerkotla), The Town School (Malerkotla) and K.V. Barnala was given the Swachh Vidyala were awarded in overall category of secondary schools of rural areas.

While Government Senior Secondary School Model Town Patiala, SGRM Government Girls Senior Secondary School Zira (Ferozepur), B.V.M. Kichlu Nagar Ludhiana and Government Senior Secondary School Boys Amloh (Fatehgarh Sahib) were felicitated with the Swachh Vidyala award under overall category of secondary schools of urban areas.

Apart from this, six schools were also awarded under various sub-categories. These schools included Government Middle School Kingra for Capacity Building and Behaviour Change, Sacred Heart School Dosanjh Road Moga for preparedness and response to cope with Covid-19 pandemic, Sita Grammar School Malerkotla for hand washing hygiene, SGRM Government Girls Senior Secondary School m Zira (Ferozepur) for maintaining good environment and better water supply and efficient use, Government Middle School Kingra (Faridkot) for better hygiene in toilets.

"Exciting news! Elets Education is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!
Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter , Instagram.