European Scholarship to 300 students, teachers

A cooperation and mobility programme in the field of higher education by the European Union namely Erasmus Mundus, is being sought by over 300 Delhi University (DU) students, researchers and faculty members. Under this cooperation batches of students are sent as well as hosted from the European universities. In 2008 DU became a partnering university of the Erasmus Mundus programme. Since then the university has sent one batch comprising of 35-40 scholars to the European universities as well as boarded students from there.

The 2009-10 Erasmus Mundus programme also has two sub-programmes titled Lot 13A and Window India Learning Link Power or WILLPower. Under the Lot 13A sub-programme, the exchange of students, researchers and academic staff is facilitated. They are provided an opportunity to work or study in one of the partnered universities through a scholarshipprogramme, which covers all their expenses. Twelve European and eight Indian universities are partnering institutions in Lot 13A. The Indian partnering universities include Delhi University; Jadavpur University, Kolkata; Pune University; Kerala University; Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IIT-K); Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai; Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences, Loni; and Anand Agricultural University, Gujarat. Each scholarship covers tuition fees, subsistence costs, travel expenses and insurance.