12 States to receive Rs120 crore under RUSA for Higher Education

The government has taken a big decision to fund research and innovation in twelve states under Rashtriya Uchachatara Siksha Abhiyan (RUSA), a programme which seeks to improve quality of higher education in the country. Each state will receive Rs 120 crore under research and innovation and quality improvement component which will support research programmes like base research, key technology (R&D), high end (R&D) etc during the present five year plan.
The central government proposes to spend Rs 98,983 crore in higher education sector through RUSA over the next eight years. Setting up of science parks, cutting edge technology and instrumental facility will also be funded by this programme. The 12 states eligible to receive funds based on their research and innovative plan include Assam, Bihar, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharastra, Odisha, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh among others and 4 union territories.

"Exciting news! Elets Education is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!