Top Schools in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand is flanked by the majestic Himalayan mountain range in the north and the picturesque Shivaliks in the south. Along with scenic beauty the state has quality educational institutes that have made it attractive for students from many decades. Uttarakhand was centre of education from the ancient time. India’s best residential schools and training institutes are located here.

1.Woodstock School, Mussoorie

woodstock school

Year of Establishment: 1854
Principal: Dr Jonathan Long
Curriculum Followed: IGCSE
Admission Period: October

Woodstock School strives for excellence in teaching and learning, offering an exceptional education in a diverse international community.

2. All Saints’ College, Nainital
All Saints’ College, Nainital

Year of Establishment: 1869
Principal: KE Jeremiah
Curriculum Followed: ICSE
Admission Period: July, January and February

It is an English Medium residential cum Day College for girls from Class I to XII. The campus is spread in a campus of over 30 acres.

3. Birla Vidya Mandir, Nainital
Birla Vidya Mandir, Nainital

Year of Establishment: 1947
Principal: Mr Anil Sharma
Curriculum Followed: CBSE
Admission Period: March

Birla Vidyamandir is a Residential Public School for boys.

4. Col Brown Cambridge School, Dehradun
Col Brown Cambridge School, Dehradun

Year of Establishment: 1926
Principal: Indu Bala Singh
Curriculum Followed: CISCE
Admission Period: March/July

It is an English Medium residential school open to all boys irrespective of their caste,creed or social status.

5. Convent of Jesus & Mary Dehradun
Convent of Jesus & Mary Dehradun

Year of Establishment: 1901
Principal: Sr Gracy Paul
Curriculum Followed: CISCE
Admission Period: September / October.

Convent of Jesus and Mary is one of the oldest chains of girl’s school in India. The school stands for academic excellence, development of skills and character formation.

6. Doon School, Dehradun
Doon School, Dehradun

Year of Establishment: 1935
Principal: Dr Peter McLaughlin
Curriculum Followed: CISCE
Admission Period: January and April

The mission of Doon School provides an environment in which every student discovers and realizes his full potential.

7. Welham Girls school, Dehradun

Welham Girls school, Dehradun

Year of Establishment: 1957
Principal: Jyotsna Brar
Curriculum Followed: ISCE
Admission Period: April

The School is affiliated to the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi, an all-India Board. The School has classes from V to XII.

8. GD Birla Memorial School for Boys, Ranikhet
GD Birla Memorial School for Boys, Ranikhet

Year of Establishment: 1987
Principal: M P John
Curriculum Followed: CBSE
Admission Period: January

GD Birla Memorial School for Boys is an English-medium residential school comprising classes IV to XII.

9. Mussoorie International School,Mussoorie
Mussoorie International School,Mussoorie

Year of Establishment: 1984
Principal: Priya Peter
Curriculum Followed: ICSE and Cambridge
Admission Period: December

Mussoorie International School has attracted Students from as many as 27 countries from around the world and enrich their lives in an environment that provides an all-round development.

10. Oak Grove School, Mussoorie
Oak Grove School, Mussoorie

Year of Establishment: 1888
Principal: Sandip Trivedi (IRPS)
Curriculum Followed: CBSE
Admission Period: June

Oak Grove School is a residential public School, currently owned and run by the Northern Railway.

11. Rashtriya Indian Military College, Dehradun

Year of Establishment: 1922
Sr Principal: Col Hukum Singh Bainsla
Curriculum Followed: CBSE
Admission Period: Every six-month

The Rashtriya Indian Military College or the RIMC is a prestigious public School for boys.

12. Sainik School Ghorakhal, Nainital

Year of Establishment: 1966
Principal: Col Devesh Gaur
Curriculum Followed: CBSE
Admission Period: November- December

The school aims at preparing its students for the officers cadre in the Armed Forces and for various other responsible positions.

13. Sherwood College, Nainital

Year of Establishment: 1869
Principal: Amandeep Singh Sandhu
Curriculum Followed: CISCE
Admission Period: March to August

Aim of the school is to educate “privileged” youth in the essence of consecrated leadership and enlightened citizenship.

14. St. George’s College Mussoorie

Year of Establishment: 1853
Principal: Bro. Christopher Dawes
Curriculum Followed: ICSE
Admission Period – April – August

St. George’s College, Mussoorie, yearn and strive to continue building this legacy and bring to fruition what was envisaged for posterity.

15. St Joseph’s Academy, Dehradun

Year of Establishment: 1934
Principal: Bro AJ George
Curriculum Followed: ICSE/ISC
Admission Period – November – December

The school’s motto, in Latin is Laborare Est Orare,which means Work is Worship.

16. St Mary’s Convent High School Nainital

Year of Establishment: 1878
Curriculum Followed: CISCE
Admission Period – June and July

The school is a girls residential/ boarding and day School in Nainital, Uttaranchal, India providing public School education.

17. Confluence World School,Rudrapur Uttrakhand

Year of Establishment: 2012
Principal: Ajay K Lall
Curriculum Followed: ICSE

Confluence World School is a school born out of a need based on a few simple insights that come from the days when we were all kids.

18. Bhartiyam International School,Rudrapur Uttrakhand

Year of Establishment: 2011
Principal: Rajesh Sharma
Curriculum Followed: CBSE

At Bhartiyam we aim at providing quality education integrated with moral values which would give our students a confidence to stand tall in the world they would step out in.

"Exciting news! Elets Education is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!
Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter , Instagram.