National Awards for Science Communication

Views: 327

National Science Day is celebrated every year on February 28, the day when Raman's effect was invented by Prof C. V. Raman at Indian Institute of Science (IISC), Banglore. The awards were conferred upon Science Communicators by Kapil Sibal, Union Minister of Science &Technology and Earth. The National Awards for Science has been instituted by the Rashtriya Vigyan Evam Prodyogiki Sanchar Parishad (National Council for Science & Technology Communication), Dept. of Science and Technology for S&T communication for outstanding work done in past 5 years by institutions and individuals.

National Award of INR 2,00,000 has been given to Vikram A. Sarabhai Community Science Centre, Ahmedabad for outstanding efforts in Science & Technology Communication for developing science teaching-learning material, conducting training programmes on science education and motivating young students towards scientific discovery. National Award of INR1,00,000 for outstanding efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Books and Magazines has been given to Dr. Pramod Kumar Mohapatra, Cuttak for writing a large number of popular science books, science encyclopedia and bringing out popular science magazine. G. S. Unnikrishnan Nair 'Anjana', Trivandrum who has published a number of science books and written a variety of articles for children has been given National Award of INR1,00,000 for outstanding efforts in Science & Technology Communication among Children. A similar award has been given to Jidnyasa Trust, Thane for mobilizing thousands of students towards science activities and setting up Science Activity Centre and producing several educational multimedia CDs for children.


DigitalLEARNING, is an initiative of Elets Techomedia Pvt Ltd existing since 2003. Now, Elets' YouTube channel -- Elets tv, a treasure of premier innovation-oriented knowledge-conferences and awards, is also active.

To Subscribe Free, Click Here
Like us on Facebook, connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter.

Most Popular

To Top