Prof Pradeep Khosla appointed as Infosys Prize Jury Chair

Professor Pradeep Khosla, Dean of the College of Engineering, and the Philip and Marsha Dowd University Professor at Carnegie Mellon University, USA, has been appointed as the Jury Chair for the Infosys Prize for Engineering and Computer Science. Khosla has taken over the role from from Professor Subra Suresh, who was appointed the Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF) by the US Senate. Professor Khosla was earlier a jury member for the Infosys Prize for Engineering and Computer Science. He will chair the jury for the Prize year 2011 and will soon select a panel of jury members who will help evaluate applications received in the category. Pradeep K. Khosla is an Indian American computer scientist. He did his B.Tech (Hons) from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 1980. After graduating he worked in the area of real-time control with Tata Consulting Engineers and Siemens until 1982.By 1986 he received both an MS and PhD degree from Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) where he continued to work as a professor. Professor Khosla is the recipient of several awards including the SiliconIndia Leadership Award for Excellence in Academics and Technology (2000), the ASME Computers in Engineering Lifetime Achievement Award (2009), and the inaugural Pan IIT American Leadership Award for Academic Excellence (2009). On his appointment as the new Jury Chair, Prof Khosla said, “I am honored to chair the Infosys Prize jury for Engineering and Computer Science. This is a great initiative that has been taken up by the Infosys Science Foundation to elevate the prestige of science and research and inspire young scientists. The Infosys Prize acknowledges outstanding contributions to research and I am pleased to be associated with this initiative.” On the occasion. T.V Mohandas Pai, President – Infosys Science Foundation said, “The Jury Chairs for the Infosys Prize comprise of eminent leaders in each of their fields lending credibility to the stature of the Infosys Prize and the respective prize categories. The Jury Chairs are selected carefully and are responsible for evaluating the achievements of the nominees against the standards of international research. We are pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Pradeep Khosla as the new Jury Chair for the Infosys Prize for Engineering and Computer Science, and look forward to his guidance and experience that he will bring to the jury.” The Infosys Prize competition endeavors to elevate the prestige of scientific research in India and inspire young Indians to choose a vocation in scientific research. The Infosys Science Foundation, a not-for-profit trust, was set up in February 2009 by the management of Infosys. The Foundation instituted the Infosys Prize, an annual award, to honor outstanding achievements of researchers and scientists across five categories : Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering and Computer Sciences, Mathematical Sciences and Life Sciences, each carrying a prize of rupees 50 Lakh. The award intends to celebrate success in scientific research and stand as a marker of excellence in these fields.

"Exciting news! Elets Education is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest insights!" Click here!
Be a part of Elets Collaborative Initiatives. Join Us for Upcoming Events and explore business opportunities. Like us on Facebook , connect with us on LinkedIn and follow us on Twitter , Instagram.