Higher Education

AP to have one university in every district

Views: 682
Andhra Pradesh would soon have at least one university in every district with the decision of the YS Rajasekhara Reddy cabinet on Wednesday to set up six new universities in a bid to boost higher education in the state.

The cabinet has approved the proposal to set up new universities in the district headquarters, among the districts that do not have even one university. The places where universities are to be set up include Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Srikakulam, Machhilipatnam, Potti Sriramulu Nellore and Kurnool.

The state government has also decided to set up 19 new degree colleges, eight junior colleges and eight polytechnics in the state. An education complex would also come up in Hyderabad to provide training to college teachers.

Write for Us

The state government set up a university each in three regions in 2006 at Nizamabad, Rajahmundry and Kadapa. In October 2006, it also announced the setting up of another university at Nalgonda of the Telangana region.

Meanwhile, the State government has decided to follow Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) syllabus in all 6,500 government high schools in the state from this academic year. It has also decided to start English medium classes in 6,500 government schools although there is a shortage of English medium teachers. 

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

[noptin-form id=89877]
To Top