VCs appointed for 15 varsities

Twelve of these are new Central Universities to be established in 12 States, where there are no such institutions. B.P. Sanjay has been made Vice-Chancellor of the University of Tamil Nadu. Prof. Sanjay, a Ph.D from Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, has been the Director of Journalism and Mass Communication and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the Indian Institute of Mass Communication and at present heads the International Relations and Collaborations Department of the University of Hyderabad. He has also served in the University of Madras and Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tirunelveli, and was senior consultant at UNESCO. Academician Abdul Wahid has been appointed the first Vice-Chancellor of the Central University of Jammu and Kashmir, while D. T. Khathing has been appointed to the post at the Central University in Jharkhand. Jancy George A. M. Pathan and M. M. Salunkhe take charge of the universities of Kerala, Karnataka and Rajasthan.

Jairup Singh, a Ph.D from the All-India Institute of Medical Sciences, has been appointed Vice-Chancellor of the University of Punjab. Surabhi Banerjee will head the University of Orissa; R. C. Sobti, the University of Himachal Pradesh; and Mool Chand Sharma, the University of Haryana. R. K. Kale has been made Vice-Chancellor of the University of Gujarat and Janak Pandey is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Bihar. While N. S. Gajbhiye has been appointed Vice-Chancellor of Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya in Sagar (Madhya Pradesh), S. K. Singh will occupy that post in Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna University in Uttarakhand and Lakshman Chaturvedi in Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Chhattisgarh. The last three institutions have been converted into Central universities. The appointments have been made on the recommendations of a search committee headed by Planning Commission member Balchandra Mungekar.