Padma Awards

Views: 985

Veteran Malayalam poet O.N.V. Kurup and Oriya poet Sitakant Mahapatra are among 25 people named for the Padma honors in the field of literature and education this year. While the two got the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian honor, three were awarded Padma Bhushan and 20 were given Padma Shri for their work in the field. Kurup, who won the Jnanpith Award, last year, is also a recipient of the National Award for best lyricist and the Padma Shri. Mahapatra has received high literary honors like the Sahitya Akademi Award and Jnanpith Award. He was conferred the Padma Bhushan in 2002. The Padma Bhushan winners also included political columnist and biographer Thayil Jacob Sony George, Bengali poet and critic Sankha Ghosh and Ramdas Madhava Pai, president of the Manipal Academy of Higher Education. The Padma Shri award winners included poet Mahim Bora, Sanskrit academician and researcher Pullella Srirama Chandrudu, and Urdu poet Balraj Komal along with 17 others.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

[noptin-form id=89877]
To Top