Higher Education

Uttarakhand Govt to set up Higher Education Selection Commission

Views: 4.4K

The Uttarakhand state government has decided to set up Higher Education Selection Commission and enroll about 850 professors through it. Their retirement age would also be increased to 65 from 60 years.

The Government has also sanctioned Rs 40 crore for construction of buildings for various degree colleges and 4.50 crore for the construction of Higher Education Directorate at Haldwani. The State has decided to spend 11 crore for the construction of polytechnic college, which will be dedicated to minority community students, in Haridwar.

The decision to this effect was taken in a review meeting of Higher Education and Technical Education Departments chaired by Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna at Secretariat. The decision to constitute the Higher Education Selection Commission was taken in view of delay in the selection through the Public Service Commission. The Commission would come into existence by September 30 and the vacant posts would be filled by March 2013. Chief Minister Bahuguna has asked the departmental officers to ensure transparent and unbiased selection.

Write for Us

He also sanctioned 40 crores for construction of college buildings and five crore for laboratory equipment. Sanctioning 4.50 crore for Higher Education Directorate building, he instructed them to open extension counter of Kumaon University in the Directorate and also at Pithoragarh Degree College. Directing the officers to increase the retirement age of professors to 65 years, he laid emphasis on strictly following the standards set by Higher Education and University Grants Commission. He also asked them to fill the vacant post of Registrars and Controller of Examinations in Kumaon University and Uttarakhand Open University. He instructed them to give priority to university staff as per their qualifications.

CM Bahuguna stressed on encouraging students from SC, ST and minorities towards technical education. He also directed to establish ITI on PPP mode at Kot, Tharali, Khatima, Sahaspur and Bironkhal development block, Engineering College at Gopeshwar and Polytechnic College at Gairsen.

The meeting was attended by Chief Secretary Alok Kumar Jain, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister DK Kotia, Principal Secretary Higher Education Rakesh Sharma and Secretary Finance Radha Raturi, among others.

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

[noptin-form id=89877]
To Top