UGC declares 24 Universities as fake; check list

Views: 3.1K

In a major development, the University Grants Commission (UGC) announced a list of 24 self-styled, unrecognised institutions in the country. The UGC termed them as fake with the maximum of them operating from UP followed by Delhi.

“Students and public are informed that currently 24 self-styled, unrecognised institutions are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, which have been declared as fake universities and these are not empowered to confer any degree,” UGC Secretary Rajnish Jain said.

While eight of these universities are from Uttar Pradesh, Delhi has seven, and Odisha and West Bengal two each.

Write for Us

Also read: UGC urges HEIs to share suggestions over implementation on NEP

Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Puducherry and Maharashtra have one such fake university each.

List of institutions declared as “Fake Universities” by the UGC:


-Commercial University Ltd. Daryaganj, Delhi

-United Nations University, Delhi

-Vocational University, Delhi

-ADR-Centric Juridical University, ADR House

-Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, New Delhi

-Viswakarma Open University for Self-employment,

-Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University)


-Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society


-St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala


-Raja Arabic University, Nagpur

West Bengal

-Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine

-Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research

Uttar Pradesh

-Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyala, Varanasi, U.P./Jagatpuri, Delhi

-Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya, (Women’s University)

-Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayag

-National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur

-Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Achaltal, Aligarh

-Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Kosi Kalan, Mathura

-Maharana Partap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh

-Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Institutional Area, Khoda, Makanpur, Noida Phase-2


-Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Anupoorna Bhawan,

-North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Mayurbhanj


Sree Bodhi academy of Higher Education, Thilaspet, Vazhuthavoor Road

Andhra Pradesh

-Christ New Testament Deemed University

Follow and connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Elets video

Eletsonline News

Most Popular

[noptin-form id=89877]
To Top